Read Blue Window by Adina Rishe Gewirtz Online

Blue Window

Five siblings fall through time and space into a strange, unkind world -- their arrival mysteriously foretold -- and land in the center of an epic civil struggle in a country where many citizens have given themselves over to their primal fears and animal passions at the urging of a power-hungry demagogue.When siblings Susan, Max, Nell, Kate, and Jean tumble one by one through a glowing cobalt window, they find themselves outside their cozy home -- and in a completely unfamiliar world where everything looks wrong and nothing makes sense. Soon, an ancient prophecy leads them into battle with mysterious forces that threaten to break the siblings apart even as they try desperately to remain united and find their way home. Thirteen-year-old twins Max and Susan and their younger siblings take turns narrating the events of their story in unique perspectives as each of the children tries to comprehend their stunning predicament -- and their extraordinary new powers -- in his or her own way. From acclaimed author Adina Rishe Gewirtz comes a riveting novel in the vein of C. S. Lewis and E. Nesbit, full of nuanced questions about morality, family, and the meaning of home....

Title : Blue Window
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9780763660369
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 560 pages
Url Type : Home » Blue » Blue Window

Build Your Custom Window Mullions Big Blue Window From a diamond grille to an angle window grid, Big Blue Window offers window inserts in any shape and size Create your custom grille today. Welcome to the Blue Train The Blue Train It is from this dream that The Blue Train was born Cairo was never to be, but the dreamers persevered and The Blue Train now traverses South Africa and its breath Run Blue Mountains Welcome Run Blue Mountains Challenge yourself to a run through Apple Country SUNDAY, OCTOBER , km, km km Runs Walks k C.O.P.S Project Blue Light Line of Duty Project Blue Light The idea began in when Mrs Dolly Craig wrote to C.O.P.S that she would be putting two blue candles in her living room window that holiday Food Ocean Blue Restaurant Oyster Bar Utica NY LANDMARC Building, Columbia St Utica, NY BLUE BlueJ Textbook Objects First with Java A Practical Introduction Using BlueJ is a textbook co written by the developers of BlueJ and has sold hundreds of thousands of Three round projection Great Blue North Draft Report Projected trade between Cleveland and Buffalo Buffalo gets the th pick overall for the th and nd picks, as well the Bills first and second round picks in Apply for or renew a Blue Badge GOV.UK Apply for or renew a Blue Badge, amend or cancel a saved application, track your application Wellmark Blue Cross and Blue Shield Wellmark is the leading health insurance company in Iowa and South Dakota Find individual and family plans and resources for Employers, Providers, and Producers. Blue Wikipedia Blue is the color of light between violet and green on the visible spectrum Hues of blue include indigo and ultramarine, closer to violet pure blue, without any

Blue Window Reviews

  • lisa

    I will preface this by saying that I am not a fan of fantasy, although I have found a lot of children's fantasy earns my grudging respect. Also, I received an ARC of this book through Library Thing. This is not the kind of book I would choose to read on my own. Now, on to the review:

    I found this book horrible. I passed it on to a colleague of mine, and she was much more amenable to it, but even she found it not very well written, and not a great book for the age group it is aimed toward, which i
    ...more

  • Tony

    I should have realized that when I was able to put this down for a week and not come back to it, that I was not going to care, but that is just what happened. I really like the idea. Narnia is my jam. You know how in Narnia things move along? Well, that does not really happen here. Things to not move along. You know how in Knife of Never Letting Go, the trip the characters are on has a point? Well, in this, there is no point. I really wanted to like this. I wanted it to be good. I did. Thanks fo ...more

  • Amy

    Five children - Susan, Max, Nell, Kate, and Jean - fall through a blue window (hence the title) into a strange world. The siblings are just trying to find their way home but instead are hunted down, captured and forced into a battle. They have no one they can really trust in this strange place and they seem to be developing some strange powers.

    Each child takes a turn at narrating the story and this was the first thing I did not like about the book. The ages and personalities of the five children
    ...more

  • Amanda Workman

    Caught between Narnia and Wrinkle in Time five children are prophesied to save a world in another dimension. This book reminded me of The Knife of Never Letting Go series by Patrick Ness, but didn’t do as good of job of creating a believable world. There wasn’t enough explanation and way too much wandering and starving and mystery never solved. I loved the five siblings and their very realistic interactions with each other, but no one else’s motives were clear.

    I loved the author’s Zebra Forest
    ...more

  • Christine Roberts

    I wanted to like this book, I really did. It started slow, but the build was good. However, somewhere in there the author buried the lead. There was too much world building in the middle of the novel and not enough character development and story advancement. I could see how this book would appeal to mid grade readers, but it didn't translate well to adult readers.

    Thanks to NetGalley, Adina Gewirtz, and Candlewick Press for an ARC of this book in exchange for an honest review.

  • Lindsi (Do You Dog-ear?)

    DNF at 10%

    I received an ARC from NetGalley in exchange for an honest review. My thoughts and opinions are my own.

    This was very similar to The Chronicles of Narnia, and even had it's very own Susan and Lucy (though the two are not related in this book). Blue Window is about a group of children (siblings) that fall into another world via a window. This new place is scary, unexpected, and filled with... I don't know what, because I didn't get that far.

    I know I didn't read much of this book, but I h
    ...more

  • Sarah Foil

    When five siblings find a strange window in their home, they fall through into another world. This new world is filled with terrifyingly deformed humans, aggressive dictators, and mysterious prophecies. Each one of them brings a new perspective to the story and new complications. As the children learn more about this new place and the abilities they have within it, they find themselves deeper within and further away from their home.

    I picked up this book because the cover was beautiful and origi
    ...more

  • Catherine ♡

    I actually enjoyed a lot of this book, and I thought that the premise was very interesting! It felt a bit like a mix between Narnia and Oz, with a darker twist.

    I did feel like the book was something that I'd read before, but nevertheless it was a fun read. I did have a little trouble with the characters in the beginning, since there were so many, and honestly I feel like that was unnecessary.

    I do feel like this would be a good bedtime read though!