Read When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Online

When Breath Becomes Air

For readers of Atul Gawande, Andrew Solomon, and Anne Lamott, a profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir by a young neurosurgeon faced with a terminal cancer diagnosis who attempts to answer the question What makes a life worth living?At the age of thirty-six, on the verge of completing a decade's worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. One day he was a doctor treating the dying, and the next he was a patient struggling to live. And just like that, the future he and his wife had imagined evaporated. When Breath Becomes Air chronicles Kalanithi's transformation from a nave medical student "possessed," as he wrote, "by the question of what, given that all organisms die, makes a virtuous and meaningful life" into a neurosurgeon at Stanford working in the brain, the most critical place for human identity, and finally into a patient and new father confronting his own mortality. What makes life worth living in the face of death? What do you do when the future, no longer a ladder toward your goals in life, flattens out into a perpetual present? What does it mean to have a child, to nurture a new life as another fades away? These are some of the questions Kalanithi wrestles with in this profoundly moving, exquisitely observed memoir. Paul Kalanithi died in March 2015, while working on this book, yet his words live on as a guide and a gift to us all. "I began to realize that coming face to face with my own mortality, in a sense, had changed nothing and everything," he wrote. "Seven words from Samuel Beckett began to repeat in my head: 'I can't go on. I'll go on.'" When Breath Becomes Air is an unforgettable, life-affirming reflection on the challenge of facing death and on the relationship between doctor and patient, from a brilliant writer who became both....

Title : When Breath Becomes Air
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 208 pages
Url Type : Home » When » When Breath Becomes Air

Review In When Breath Becomes Air, Dr Paul Kalanithi When Breath Becomes Air is gripping from the start But it becomes even so as Dr Kalanithi tries to reinvent himself in various ways with no When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi, Hardcover Auto Suggestions are available once you type at least letters Use up arrow for mozilla firefox browser alt up arrow and down arrow for mozilla firefox browser Book Summary When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi This is a book summary of When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi Read this When Breath Becomes Air summary to review ideas and lessons from the book. When Breath Becomes Air Summary eNotes Complete summary of When Breath Becomes Air eNotes plot summaries cover all the significant action of When Breath Becomes Air. When Breath Becomes Air, by the late Paul Kalanithi For an elegant memoir of the author s turn from gifted physician to terminal patient, told without a hint of bravado or self pity. When Breath Becomes Air Lucy and Paul Kalanithi Very early in When Breath Becomes Air, Paul essentially writes that Lucy is considering leaving him His ambition, the demands of being a chief neurosurgery resident When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi At the age of thirty six, on the verge of completing a decade s worth of training as a neurosurgeon, Paul Kalanithi was diagnosed with stage IV lung cancer. Craig Brown reviews When Breath Becomes Air Mail Online This touching memoir begins with him examining his own CT scan with his wife Lucy, also a doctor In that moment, his imagined future evaporates to nothing. Paul Kalanithi When Breath Becomes Air split my head open with its beauty Cheryl Strayed This is one of a handful of books I consider to be a universal donor I would When Breath Becomes Air Bill Gates Bill Gates reviews the book When Breath Becomes Air by author Paul Kalanithi.

When Breath Becomes Air Reviews

  • Esil

    A very high 4 stars. When Breath Becomes Air is so good and so sad. It's a brief memoir of a life ended way too early. Kalanithi was 35 years old and finishing his training as a neurosurgeon when he was diagnosed with an aggressive form of lung cancer. As he was living out the end of his life, he wrote this brief powerful memoir. In the first section, he describes how he became aware of his diagnosis -- he essentially self diagnosed. In the second section he explains how he decided to become a n ...more

  • Sara Kamjou

    همین الان این کتاب رو تموم کردم که دارم این ریویو رو مینویسم. ترجیح دادم نوشتنش بلافاصله باشه تا شاید بتونم حتی شده بخش کوچیکی از حسم نسبت به این کتاب رو انتقال بدم.

    خوندن این کتاب رو تموم کردم و قلبم فشرده شده و در عین حال از هیجان میکوبه. فشردگی از غم و هیجان از آموختههای لذتبخش و سهیم شدن در جهانبینی عمیق یک انسانِ به واقع انسان.

    قصد داشتم کتاب رو جرعه جرعه بخونم تا لذت خوندنش برام تا مدتی ادامه پیدا کنه و بتونم بیشتر مست بشم و عمیقتر بهره ببرم اما خب افسوس که وقتی به چیزی بیش از اندازه لذتبخش
    ...more

  • Linda

    "To begin with -- or, maybe, to end with --I got to know Paul only after his death. I came to know him most intimately when he'd ceased to be." (Abraham Verghese)

    And we, for the most part, can actually say the same thing about Paul Kalanithi. We've come to know of him only after he had left this world of ours. Ironically, I write this on March 9th, the one-year anniversary of his passing.

    Paul Kalanithi: son, husband, father, brilliant surgeon. He was a healer whose very existence gave hope to so
    ...more

  • Eve

    “Servere illness wasn’t life altering, it was life shattering. It felt less like an epiphany, a piercing burst of light illuminating what really matters, and more like someone had just firebombed the path forward. Now I would have to work around it.”


    Paul Kalanithi is just thirty-six years old when he’s diagnosed with terminal cancer. Before entering the medical field, he debated about whether to follow his love of literature into a teaching and writing field. It’s touching that he got to do bo ...more

  • Sabaa Tahir

    Never has a book turned me into a sad sobbing mess so quickly. Philosophical, beautiful, moving, difficult, heartbreaking. Highly, HIGHLY recommend.

  • Jill

    Sometimes you don’t go out and find a book; the book finds you. Facing an impending loss without a foundation of faith to fall back on, I find myself asking, “What is the meaning of life if we’re all just going to die?”

    Paul Kalanithi answers that question in the most meaningful way possible in his outstanding book. A 36-year- old neurosurgeon, Paul wrestled between medicine and literature as an eventual career. Medicine won out and he was just on the cusp of a stellar trajectory when he was diag
    ...more

  • Petra X

    I finished the book. I'm glad that I perservered with it. It's quite an odd book and an overall rating might be the sum of the parts, but is not going to reflect the writing or content of those parts. Ratings, part I, 1 star, part II, 3 stars and part III, 5 stars.

    The first part, the foreword, by Abraham Verghese, was verbose, hagiographic and contradictory (view spoiler). He said he didn't know the author at all until after his death. Then he says well he did me
    ...more

  • Joseph

    Okay, I so wanted to like this very absorbing book more than I did. I am not going to recap it other than to say that Paul came from a privileged background, a very supportive family and an Indian (Asian Tiger) mom. He succumbed to an aggressive form of lung cancer. My own wife died of lung disease (idiopathic pulmonary fibrosis). Outside of the hospital I was her caregiver for a year and a half. I was the one who made sure she had oxygen, got to her appointments, watched this once vital woman d ...more