Read The Chilbury Ladies' Choir by Jennifer Ryan Online

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

The village of Chilbury in Kent is about to ring in some changes.This is a delightful novel of wartime gumption and village spirit that will make your heart sing out.Kent, 1940.In the idyllic village of Chilbury change is afoot. Hearts are breaking as sons and husbands leave to fight, and when the Vicar decides to close the choir until the men return, all seems lost.But coming together in song is just what the women of Chilbury need in these dark hours, and they are ready to sing. With a little fighting spirit and the arrival of a new musical resident, the charismatic Miss Primrose Trent, the choir is reborn.Some see the choir as a chance to forget their troubles, others the chance to shine. Though for one villager, the choir is the perfect cover to destroy Chilburys new-found harmony.Uplifting and profoundly moving, THE CHILBURY LADIES CHOIR explores how a village can endure the onslaught of war, how monumental history affects small lives and how survival is as much about friendship as it is about courage....

Title : The Chilbury Ladies' Choir
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781101906750
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 371 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Chilbury Ladies' Choir

The Chilbury Ladies Choir by Jennifer Ryan Goodreads The Chilbury Ladies Choir has , ratings and , reviews Paromjit said This is a hugely enjoyable novel delivered through the medium of letters The Chilbury Ladies Choir Jennifer Ryan Buy The Chilbury Ladies Choir First Edition First Printing by Jennifer Ryan ISBN from s Book Store Everyday low prices and free delivery The Chilbury Ladies Choir eBook Jennifer Ryan As a member of a ladies choir myself I was drawn to the title of this book I was completely captivated by the story, and the devastating effect the war had on the The Chilbury Ladies Choir by Jennifer Ryan Hardcover IN WARTIME, SURVIVAL IS AS MUCH ABOUT FRIENDSHIP AS IT IS ABOUT COURAGEKent, In the idyllic village of Chilbury change is afoot Hearts are breaking as THE CHILBURY LADIES CHOIR Reading Group Choices Through letters and journals, The Chilbury Ladies Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. The Chilbury Ladies Choir A Novel Jennifer Ryan For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies Choir unfolds the struggles, affairs, deceptions, and triumphs of a village choir during World War II As England becomes enmeshed in the early days of World War II and the men are away fighting, the women of Chilbury village forge an uncommon bond. The Chilbury Ladies Choir by Jennifer Ryan, Paperback The Chilbury Ladies ChoirSet during World War II, The Chilbury Ladies Choir shares the story of quiet English town When the men are sent to war the vicar decides that the choir should be discontinued However, a few of the women fought The Chilbury Ladies Choir Jennifer Ryan The Chilbury Ladies Choir by Jennifer Ryan, , available at Book Depository with free delivery worldwide. The Chilbury Ladies Choir by Jennifer Ryan About The Chilbury Ladies Choir NATIONAL BESTSELLER A delightful debut People For readers of Lilac Girls and The Nightingale, The Chilbury Ladies Choir unfolds the THE CHILBURY LADIES CHOIR The Crown Publishing Group Advance Praise for THE CHILBURY LADIES CHOIR An Indie Next Pick for February There s so much happening in Chilbury intrigue, romance, and an

The Chilbury Ladies' Choir Reviews

  • Dale Harcombe

    The year is 1940. The majority of men are at war, so the vicar decides to abandon the choir. Heaven forbid they should have a choir without male voices! When a newcomer suggests an all-female choir, there are cries of outrage. And some come from one or two of the women. But eventually common sense prevails and the Chilbury Ladies choir is formed. The story of this choir, and some of its members and the goings on in the village in Kent is told through letters or diary entries by various people. I ...more

  • Diane Barnes

    I was a bit disappointed in this book. I looked forward to reading a WWII novel set in a English Village, an epistolary novel written from the viewpoint of the women left behind when the men went off to war. Let me say right off that it was a very good story with some intrigue, some mystery, and an unusual plot.

    What bothered me was that the letters and journals seemed a bit contrived. I've never yet seen a journal that quotes entire conversations verbatim, with quotation marks. Most of the journ
    ...more

  • Jennifer ~ TarHeelReader

    World War II fiction has become a passion of mine, and this book is a true standout representing The Greatest Generation. Told in letters and journal entries written by those on the homefront in a quaint English village, this book is superbly written, emotionally rendered, and full of interesting characters. A must-read tale of friendship, love, and a community coming together when it is needed most. I hope the author plans to write a follow-up because I am not ready to let these characters go! ...more

  • Paromjit

    This is a hugely enjoyable novel delivered through the medium of letters and journals. It is a quintessentially British story set in Kent about a community of women contributing to the war effort, trying to survive and live life whilst the world as they know it is crumbling around them. Helping them to cope with the grief and loss is the Chilbury Ladies Choir set up by incomer Primrose, despite the opposition of Mrs B. who thinks its a scandal to have a choir without men. Women are having to ste ...more

  • Marialyce

    Three and a half stars for a lovely story of woman who find their inner strength during WW 2. With the men all gone to war, the ladies step up and find that they are able to do everything the men had done. In their newfound abilities, they find an ability to see themselves in totally different lights. They are not the docile meek woman anymore but acquire the wherewithal to be what was needed. The characters are great, so real and yet quite able to stand up for themselves sometimes not for the g ...more

  • Faith

    I was expecting more from this book, but it turned out to be conventional women's fiction with gossip, jealousy and unwanted pregnancy set during WWII. Since the story was told in the form of letters and journal entries, it was a little disjointed. Also, this stylistic convention wasn't convincingly done. I don't think people usually include full conversations in their correspondence and journals. I didn't hate it, but it was a very slight story.

    I received a free copy of the ebook from the publi
    ...more

  • Liz

    Reminding me of The Guernsey Literary and Potato Peel Society, this book is written as a series of letters, journal or diary entries. As opposed to a single writer, here we have a variety of writers of all ages and stripes. Starting at the beginning of WWII, the village is dealing with the absence of most of its men. The vicar disbands the choir as it lacks the necessary tenors and basses. But here comes a new music instructor to the nearby University and she forms The Chilbury Ladies’ Choir. “I ...more

  • Sabaa Tahir

    Read this book over a couple of months because I didn't want it to end. Such detail, such heart, and some excellent village intrigue and cabal, all set agains the backdrop of World War II. One of my favorite adult books of recent memory. Jennifer Ryan is going to be an auto-buy for me from now on.