Read The Midnights by Sarah Nicole Smetana Online

The Midnights

Susannah Hayes has never been in the spotlight, but she dreams of following her father, a former rock star, onto the stage. As senior year begins, shes more interested in composing impressive chord progressions than college essays, certain that if she writes the perfect song, her father might finally look up from the past long enough to see her. But when he dies unexpectedly her dreamsand her realityshatter.While Susannah struggles with grief, her mother uproots them to a new city. There, Susannah realizes she can reinvent herself however she wants: a confident singer-songwriter, member of a hip band, embraced by an effortlessly cool best friend. But Susannah is not the only one keeping secrets, and soon, harsh revelations threaten to unravel her life once again....

Title : The Midnights
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : -
Format Type : Kindle Edition
Number of Pages : 416 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Midnights

Sandy Vine and the Midnights YEARS OF EXPERIENCE SANDY VINE AND THE MIDNIGHTS have been pleasing Niagara wedding and corporate clients for over .MidnightSunSafelist Welcome to MidnightSun Safelist Effective Email Advertising to eager buyers from all over the world from Dave Mosher in Dallas Fort Worth, TX Midnight s Children novel by Rushdie Britannica Midnight s Children Midnight s Children, allegorical novel by Salman Rushdie, published in It is a historical chronicle of modern India centring on the Midnight s Master Donna Grant, NY Times and USA Donna Grant is the New York Times and USA Today bestselling author of than forty novels and novellas spanning multiple genres of romance. MidnightsMojo Etsy You searched for MidnightsMojo Browse the unique items that MidnightsMojo creates, and discover the perfect gift At Etsy, we pride ourselves on our community of deal of the day daily deal Midnight Deals Midnight Steal Midnight steal One Daily Deal at Midnight today s deal Apex Theaters of Louisville, Kentucky Welcome to Apex Theatres Please select your location Baxter Avenue Theatres Village Theatres Midnight s Children Summary GradeSaver Saleem Sinai begins by mentioning his date of birth August th, This is the same day that India gained its independence from the British Empire Even though Rob Orlemans Halfpastmidnight Blues rock power trio Rob Orlemans Half Past Midnight has inspired enthusiasm and loyalty among fans around the world through their explosive live performances and Midnight s Children Rotten Tomatoes First and foremost, Midnight s Children is a suitably epic and pointed look at post independence India, Pakistan and Bangladesh, as viewed through the eyes of the

The Midnights Reviews

  • Liz Overberg

    Susannah Hayes loves every moment that her dad allows her into his world--his garage studio where he writes music, drinks, and dreams of recreating his youth, sometimes not emerging from the studio (or even talking to Susannah) for days at a time. She knows her dad can be irresponsible. She knows her mom struggles to support their family while her dad behaves erratically. But he gave Susannah music, and she clings to the connection that she feels when she plays her guitar with her dad.

    Then, the
    ...more

  • Jena

    “Even as time passed, as my fingertips hardened into calluses, as I slipped into those awkward early teenage years, my father’s studio remained the sole place where I felt the most extraordinary, and most alive.”

    Susannah Hayes wants to follow in her musician father’s footsteps more than anything. She writes song lyrics in her spare time and spends countless late night hours with her father in his studio. They live and breathe music the way other people breathe air. When the unthinkable happens,
    ...more

  • Sarah

    I received this through Edelweiss in exchange for an honest review.

    Susannah has always had a special bond with her father. They connect through music. He is a washed up rock star, who continues to record and work with music in their home recording studio in the garage. Susannah writes songs and tweaks music to make something beautiful that will impress her father. He has had mental challenges, and addiction issues for years, which threatens family bonds and the relationship between Susannah's p
    ...more

  • Tara Tsai

    This book was so emotional and beautiful, I swore that I was actually the main character while I was reading. Sarah's ability to describe a setting totally immersed me into the world of THE MIDNIGHTS and never let me go. Although this book is a little more melancholy and less escapist than my normal favorite contemporaries, I still found it an amazing read. I could relate on such a close level to Susannah's love for music and her intense longing in the book really struck me as I read.

    A fantastic
    ...more

  • Vicki (MyArmchairAdventures)

    hank you @booksparks sending me The Midnights and having me be a part of the pop up blog tour!

    Susannah Hayes’s father is a former rock star and the best way she can communicate with him is through music. Her life abruptly changes at the beginning of senior year when he unexpectedly dies and she is forced to move to another town and a new high school.

    Set in LA the author uses Southern California weather to showcase the non-glossy side of lala-land. Wildfires, earthquakes, storms and Santa Ana w
    ...more

  • Rachel Solomon

    THE MIDNIGHTS is one of the most exquisite YA novels I've ever read, with an evocative, dreamy setting that is truly a character in itself. I've never read a Southern California so raw and alive and unapologetic. Sarah Nicole Smetana's prose should be savored like the darkest dark chocolate. So many lines burrowed into my heart and stuck in my throat. I loved and ached for Susannah, grieving the sudden loss of the musician father who didn't have enough time for her. Every member of Susannah's fr ...more

  • Lauren

    I've been dying to read The Midnights ever since I saw Rachel Lynn Solomon, author of the AMAZING You'll Miss Me When I'm Gone, raving about it on Goodreads. I figured if she'd loved it I'd probably love it as well, and as it turns out, I was one hundred percent correct (thankfully!).

    The Midnights is not just good but great. Combing lyrical writing, a drool-worthy setting, and a thoughtful coming-of-age, The Midnights is a standout YA debut, perfect for fans of Sarah Dessen's This Lullaby.

    When
    ...more

  • Samantha (WLABB)

    Rating: 3.5 Stars

    I am always up for a good grief and loss book, and The Midnights absolutely fit the bill. It was filled with the pain we associate with losing a loved one, and the ways one may go about trying to fill the hole left in their heart.

    •Pro: Smetana beautifully depicted the emotional pain experienced by the characters in this book. The grief and suffering was utterly palpable.

    •Con: I know it's realistic for some people to spin a little out of control when they are grieving, but I had
    ...more