Read Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark T. Sullivan Online

Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young mans incredible courage and resilience during one of historys darkest hours. Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis. Hes a normal Italian teenagerobsessed with music, food, and girlsbut his days of innocence are numbered. When his family home in Milan is destroyed by Allied bombs, Pino joins an underground railroad helping Jews escape over the Alps, and falls for Anna, a beautiful widow six years his senior.In an attempt to protect him, Pinos parents force him to enlist as a German soldiera move they think will keep him out of combat. But after Pino is injured, he is recruited at the tender age of eighteen to become the personal driver for Adolf Hitlers left hand in Italy, General Hans Leyers, one of the Third Reichs most mysterious and powerful commanders.Now, with the opportunity to spy for the Allies inside the German High Command, Pino endures the horrors of the war and the Nazi occupation by fighting in secret, his courage bolstered by his love for Anna and for the life he dreams they will one day share.Fans of All the Light We Cannot See, The Nightingale, and Unbroken will enjoy this riveting saga of history, suspense, and love....

Title : Beneath a Scarlet Sky
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781503943377
Format Type : Paperback
Number of Pages : 513 pages
Url Type : Home » Beneath » Beneath a Scarlet Sky

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Mark Sullivan Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan Book Club BENEATH A SCARLET SKY is a work of historical fiction As you were reading did you feel that the story was authentic Given that the truth about what actually Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel Barnes Noble Based on the true story of a forgotten hero, Beneath a Scarlet Sky is the triumphant, epic tale of one young man s incredible courage and resilience during one of Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Pascal Pictures Lands Beneath A Scarlet Sky For Tom Holland Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review Arlene s Book Club Beneath A Scarlet Sky Book Review By Dinh Synopsis Pino Lella wants nothing to do with the war or the Nazis He s a normal Italian teenager obsessed with music Beneath a Scarlet Sky Sullivan Discussion Questions Our Reading Guide for Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Sullivan includes Book Club Discussion Questions, Book Reviews, Plot Summary Synopsis and Author Bio. Beneath a Scarlet Sky A Novel by Mark Sullivan Reading Informative, Dramatic, Adventurous, BookMovement s reading guide includes discussion questions, plot summary, reviews and ratings and suggested discussion questions Fiction Book Review Beneath a Scarlet Sky by Mark Edgar finalist Sullivan Triple Cross lays on history with a trowel in this overstuffed tale of derring do set in Italy during WWII In , year old Pino Lella Groveland man s father inspired a book and possibly a Pino Lella, of Lesa, Italy, is the protagonist in best selling book Beneath a Scarlet Sky Maggie Beck Union Democrat Plugged In Plugged In reviews movies, videos, music, TV and games from a Christian perspective We re shining a light on the world of popular entertainment.

Beneath a Scarlet Sky Reviews

  • Maine Colonial

    It's mind boggling how bad this book is. The author wants to have it both ways, saying in one place that it's fiction, then saying it "hews closely" to fact and, in the Afterward, writing as if it was all true. You can't have it both ways.

    Actually, though, either way it has the same problems, in that the writing is juvenile and the story made me laugh out loud numerous times with how absurd it is. I had to start taking notes just to keep track of the astonishing coincidences and cartoonish tale
    ...more

  • Elisabeth

    The story of Pino Lella is amazing. The writing of Mark Sullivan is dreadful. It reads like it was written by a sixth grader, full of cliches and bad metaphors. I brought this book on vacation and was so excited to read it based on the description on the back cover. What a disappointment.

  • Beverly

    Although I read it quickly, Beneath a Scarlet Sky did not live up to the beauty of its cover. This was recommended to me so that's mostly why I finished it. I should not have read my Goodreads friends' reviews because they were very critical.

    One reason they were, which I think is the most damning is that although it's purported to be the true life story of Pino Lella, a hero of WW 2, there is little supporting evidence for his story and some of the incidents the author reports seem unlikely to
    ...more

  • Skip

    Truly remarkable, the divergence of opinions on this book on Goodreads. It seems that little has been written about Mussolini's fascist Italy during WWII. Mark Sullivan's novel is based on the true story of teenager Pino Lella's experiences in war-torn Milan, and Sullivan clearly did extensive research, but was surprised that Mussolini's heinous fascist crimes were completely ignored: Mussolini was wrongly portrayed as a victim. On the other hand, he made you feel you were actually in Milan and ...more

  • Elizabeth (Alaska)

    The vocabulary and sentence structure seem geared toward about fifth grade.

    As the boys moved on, Mimo limped along while rubbing his right hip and complaining. But Pino was barely listening. A tawny-blond woman with slate-blue eyes was coming down the sidewalk right at them. He guessed her to be in her early twenties. She was beautifully put together, with a gentle nose, high cheekbones, and lips that curled naturally into an easy smile. Svelte and of medium height, she wore a yellow summer dre
    ...more

  • Juli

    Pino Lella is a typical Italian teenager...he enjoys his friends, girls, music....what all young people enjoy. Then Milan is bombed by the Allies, and World War II tears his world apart. Pino leaves Milan and joins a group that helps guide Jews over the Alps to safety in Switzerland. As he nears his 18th birthday, his parents push him to join the German Army to prevent his being sent to the Russian front with the Italian forces. Pino joins the German army, but he isn't a Nazi.....he is acting as ...more

  • Tammy

    Wow. I just finished Beneath A Scarlet Sky and I'm in tears. I love historical fiction, especially WWII fiction, but this book ripped my heart out. I am amazed at the resilience of the survivors of WWII. If you love historical fiction, READ THIS BOOK!!

  • Kim Kaso

    This was available on Kindle First, and sounded like a fresh take on WW II for me. Both the subject of the novel, a young man who actually lived through these extraordinary times and experiences, and the author had compelling stories, and it caught my interest. I bought it in book form as there are many people with whom I wish to share this, and found myself reading way too late into the night as I needed to know what happened next. I cared deeply about the characters, and I was engaged by the d ...more