Read The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel Online

The Room on Rue Amélie

For fans of Kristin Hannahs The Nightingale and Martha Hall Kellys Lilac Girls, this powerful novel of fate, resistance, and familyby the international bestselling author of The Sweetness of Forgetting and When We Meet Againtells the tale of an American woman, a British RAF pilot, and a young Jewish teenager whose lives intersect in occupied Paris during the tumultuous days of World War II.When newlywed Ruby Henderson Benoit arrives in Paris in 1939 with her French husband Marcel, she imagines strolling arm in arm along the grand boulevards, awash in the golden afternoon light. But war is looming on the horizon, and as France falls to the Nazis, her marriage begins to splinter, too.Charlotte Dacher is eleven when the Germans roll into the French capital, their sinister swastika flags snapping in the breeze. After the Jewish restrictions take effect and Jews are ordered to wear the yellow star, Charlotte cant imagine things getting much worse. But then the mass deportations begin, and her life is ripped forever apart.Thomas Clarke joins the British Royal Air Force to protect his country, but when his beloved mother dies in a German bombing during the waning days of the Blitz, he wonders if hes really making a difference. Then he finds himself in Paris, in the shadow of the Eiffel Tower, and he discovers a new reason to keep fightingand an unexpected road home.When fate brings them together, Ruby, Charlotte, and Thomas must summon the courage to defy the Nazisand to open their own broken heartsas they fight to survive. Rich with historical drama and emotional depth, this is an unforgettable story that will stay with you long after the final page is turned....

Title : The Room on Rue Amélie
Author :
Rating :
ISBN : 9781501171406
Format Type : Hardcover
Number of Pages : 400 pages
Url Type : Home » Download » The Room on Rue Amélie

The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allan Poe The full text of The Murders in the Rue Morgue by Edgar Allan Poe, with vocabulary words and definitions. Website of Carmen Rue Village of Monticello, New York The following informational flyer appears on the website of the County of Delaware, New York, our neighboring county to the northwest This warning concerning the Chanel , rue Cambon Les Exclusifs Perfume Review The melancholy aura and retro elegance of Chanel , rue Cambon are fascinating, given its decidedly modern interpretation. Amlie IMDb Directed by Jean Pierre Jeunet With Audrey Tautou, Mathieu Kassovitz, Rufus, Lorella Cravotta Amlie is an innocent and naive girl in Paris with her own sense of Wix Home Facebook Wix .M likes Wix is a web development platform that lets anyone create a stunning website Les Exclusifs de Chanel Rue Cambon Chanel perfume , rue Cambon is than just a place in Paris It represents a beginning of the World of CHANEL Gabrielle Chanel bought the place in Till the Rue Rude The real Papillon translation of newspaper Today there was an article in Le Parisien my favorite newspaper about an old man who claims to be the real Papillon, inspiring the movie with Steve McQueen I was A E Housman Selected Poems greenend A E Housman Selected Poems The following is a fairly extensive selection of Housman s poetry originally published by me, Martin Hardcastle, in the early s. ABC TV Shows, Specials Movies ABC Find listings of daytime and primetime ABC TV shows, movies and specials Get links to your favorite show pages. The Tell Tale Heart by Edgar Allan Poe THE TELL TALE HEART by Edgar Allan Poe TRUE nervous very, very dreadfully nervous I had been and am but why will you say that I am mad

The Room on Rue Amélie Reviews

  • Lynn

    This is supposed to be historical fiction about the resistance in Paris during WWII, but in reality it's just a bad romance story using the above premise as a backdrop to tell the story. There is very little character development, and all the characters are mostly stereotypes. There is a young girl, Charlotte, who is wise beyond her years, and says things that no young teenager would ever say.

    For me, it's as if The Nightingale and The Lilac Girls were mashed together into one bad novel, taking
    ...more

  • Bam

    *3-3.5 stars--which is a rating of good + in my rating scale. This was a goodreads giveaway win for me; many thanks to the author and publisher!

    Kristin Harmel has written a very nice story of historical fiction, which takes place in Paris during WWII. Ruby Henderson is a college girl from California who meets a Frenchman named Marcel Benoit in NYC. She is swept off her feet; they marry and move into an apartment on the Rue Amelie in Paris. Next door lives an older Jewish couple with an inquisiti
    ...more

  • Linda Zagon

    Kudos to Kristin Harmel, Author of "The Room on Rue Amelie" for weaving a fictional story and colorful characters with Historical Fiction. The time period is during World War Two. and goes to the past and the future only as the situation pertains to the story. This is a heavier emotional read with espionage, hardships, devastation, love, despair and hope.

    The characters are complex and complicated, perhaps due to the circumstances. The characters were also  courageous and brave.  Ruby is an Ameri
    ...more

  • Fareya

    The Room on Rue Amélie by Kristin Harmel is a heartbreaking and inspiring tale of love, loss and survival during the tumultuous times of World War II.

    "That's one thing faith is especially good for: giving us strength in times of crisis"

    I have always found stories based during this era of time to be extremely emotional. I think the one thing they all have in common is how we get to see the best and the worst of humanity simultaneously. Its distressing to just read about the horrors inflicted on h
    ...more

  • MaryBeth's Bookshelf

    The Room on Rue Amelie focuses on the lives of three different people during World War II.

    Ruby Henderson meets and falls in love with Marcel Benoit. When she moves with him to Paris in 1939 she imagines a very romantic life for them. But Paris is on the cusp of becoming involved in World War II and this changes both of their lives forever.

    Charlotte Dacher is a young girl who lives with her family next to Ruby and Marcel. The Dacher's are Jewish and start to see their world closing in on them as
    ...more

  • Tammy

    Cliches abound: “You must forgive yourself. Knowledge is power. It’s a mother’s job to protect her child. It’s what’s inside a person that counts. Better safe than sorry. I still believe in the goodness of mankind. What matters is what’s in your heart. Your life depends on it”. At one point. I wanted to place the back of my hand to my forehead with a dramatic sigh.

    To be fair, this was my fault. I went into this thinking that it would be similar to The Nightingale. Given what I do for a living, I
    ...more

  • Erin

    3.5 stars

    Thanks to NetGalley for an advanced ebook in exchange for an honest review.

    "The Room on Rue Amelie" is a World War II romance that takes place mainly in Paris and is triple narrated by three different characters that quickly take hold of the pages. As the author acknowledges in her Afterword pages, the character of Ruby was based on a real American woman -Virginia d'Albert Lake. Thanks to Kristin Harmel for bringing to reading audiences attention another person that many people did not
    ...more

  • Rhonda Ruff

    I received this book as a goodreads win! I would have bought it anyway! Such a heartbreakingly beautiful story! People helping others during ww2! I could not put it down!